I’m now reinstalled in my lovely, if slightly chilly, student room, and have spent the day lugging heavy boxes around and unpacking. Of course the reason the boxes were so heavy was that I brought an awful lot of books back with me! It is one of the things I like most about packing for uni at the end of each holiday: going through all the bookshelves in my house picking out books I haven’t yet read and books I want to reread so that I have a shelf-full of books to distract myself with during term time. I think I’d go crazy without them! Of course doing this doesn’t stop me from being tempted by the bookshops every now and then to splurge my student loan on new books!

So here is my bookshelf for this term; I think it’s quite a good mix of fiction and non-fiction and is broadly representative of my tastes (although there’s not enough sci-fi or fantasy, but that’s usually what I splurge on in Waterstones)

Stephen Oppenheimer, Out of Eden

Stephen Oppenheimer, The Origins of the British

Alison Baverstock, How to get a job in Publishing

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Half of a Yellow Sun

Tom Holland, Persian Fire

Ian McEwan, Atonement

Chinua Achebe, Things Fall Apart

Terry Pratchett, Wyrd Sisters

Anita Diamant, The Red Tent

Margaret Forster, Hidden Lives

Cicero, Selected Works (Penguin Edition)

Margaret Forster, Over

Sebastian Faulks, Charlotte Gray

Clare Tomalin, Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self

Mike Dash, Tulipomania

Lalita Tademy, Red River

Jaqueline Carey, Kushiel’s Dart

Anita Shreve, The Last Time They Met

Anton Chekhov, Plays, (Penguin Classics Edition)

Anne Tyler, Back When We Were Grownups

Andrew Haslam, Book Design

Yolanda Zappaterra, Editorial Design

Chris Stringer, Homo Britannicus

I’ll keep you updated on how many of this selection I get through and what I think of them!

